Sponsor
My Notes

Go Back   LYLA - Canadian Escort Recommendation Board & Lyla's List > Tech Corner
Tech Corner Tech help for computer questions and gadgets.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 08-04-2016, 11:11 PM
Able Able is offline
New Member - Moderated Account
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1
I am a
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Able Able
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luckyme View Post
Found this article this morning on CBC news -

Cable companies launch court battle against 'free TV' Android box vendors
Court rules 5 defendants must temporarily stop selling boxes that can be used for piracy

http://www.cbc.ca/news/business/free...-world-morning

Wonder how it will affect the whole situation. Most likely, these boxes will not be available in Canada any longer ( but still available across the border), but what about the streaming ? Will it affect the streaming on boxes already sold? I have a rough idea of the answer, but just wonder what people in the know think.
True, they may not be available in Canada anymore, but it will be really difficult to ban purchasing these boxes from another country. Current Canadian law as I understand it, it is not illegal to stream content provided from these boxes as you are not making a copy. It is downloaded, viewed in 'real time' and disappears. It is illegal to download and store a copy.

As far as affecting current streaming, it should have little effect. There are various app on these boxes, and there are great resources on the web that can give you step by step video instruction on how to update and configure your apps, should your apps stop functioning.

Comments
  
  Thanked Post
The Following User Says Thank You to Able For This Useful Post:
  #22  
Old 08-10-2016, 03:40 PM
November man November man is offline
Senior Member (100+ Posts)
Long time member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 164
I am a
Thanks: 6
Thanked 42 Times in 32 Posts
November man has less then 10 reputation points
Default

I have a question. I have two televisions ,older models. One has cable and the other not. I was wondering if I buy one of those boxes and hook it up to a cable wire instead of an antenna will my second tv catch all the same channels as my first . Or maybe I should just buy a new tv? Trying to get some free local channels.
  #23  
Old 08-10-2016, 08:46 PM
blacklabdog's Avatar
blacklabdog blacklabdog is online now
Senior Member (100+ Posts)
Long time member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: South Ottawa/North Grenville
Posts: 191
I am a
Thanks: 70
Thanked 117 Times in 82 Posts
blacklabdog has over 2000 reputation pointsblacklabdog has over 2000 reputation pointsblacklabdog has over 2000 reputation points
Default

those boxes dont connect via cable, instead they get content via the Internet. Boxes plug into tv via HDMI port which you may not have if tv super old

You can hook up an HD Antenna tho to get free HD CBC, CTV Global etc like this:
http://thewirecutter.com/reviews/bes...-hdtv-antenna/
  #24  
Old 08-22-2016, 08:35 AM
Kilt Boy's Avatar
Kilt Boy Kilt Boy is offline
Senior Member (100+ Posts)
Long time member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 289
I am a
Thanks: 331
Thanked 268 Times in 148 Posts
Kilt Boy has over 5000 reputation pointsKilt Boy has over 5000 reputation pointsKilt Boy has over 5000 reputation pointsKilt Boy has over 5000 reputation pointsKilt Boy has over 5000 reputation pointsKilt Boy has over 5000 reputation pointsKilt Boy has over 5000 reputation points
Lightbulb

If you have an extra computer laying around, or preferably a laptop, you can do what I do. Hook it up to your television and let it control your feed.

I've been doing this for the last 15 years, and it works great.

Recently this has been made much easier with the introduction of Kodi. This is the program that is installed on 95% of those Android boxes you find. IT'S FREE TO DOWNLOAD! It will take a little bit of research and practice to figure out how it works, but it hooks into every channel you can think of with the right add-ons (also free).

Do yourself a favour and also download and install the Kodi Tips addon. It configures a lot of stuff that is the most commonly used sets of addons. It saves a lot of time.

It can be a tiny bit flaky at times, but you're not paying a cable bill anymore. Suck it up.

There are videos online about how to set it up and use it. It isn't that difficult. It's just different.

I watch a LOT of tv now (and surf for ... you know ... pictures), and my account is limited to 150Gb/month. I get close to that limit once in a while.

Can also be used to stream music.

I haven't paid for cable for 15 years or more now. I can't say that I've missed anything. I still watch what I want to watch, but with no commercials. I can't believe that some people pay hundreds of dollars every single month. I guess they're paying for ME to watch. Thank you for that.

Comments
  
  Thanked Post
__________________
The ladies love the kilt.
Charter member of The Unfuckables.
Buy Really Horribleā„¢ dance wallets, donation envelopes.
The Following User Says Thank You to Kilt Boy For This Useful Post:
  #25  
Old 09-16-2016, 12:08 AM
RubJunky's Avatar
RubJunky RubJunky is offline
Senior Member (100+ Posts)
Long time member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 251
I am a
Thanks: 5
Thanked 44 Times in 30 Posts
RubJunky is gaining reputationRubJunky is gaining reputation
Default

Same here, built my own box with Zotac 4K system, Win7 Pro and Kodi, never have issues watch all current live AMC series, NFL, NHL and even the olympics.... All free!

Comments
  
  Thanked Post
__________________
I've been around for a long, long year
Stole many a man's soul to waste.
The Following User Says Thank You to RubJunky For This Useful Post:
  #26  
Old 12-09-2016, 03:54 PM
Blue0012 Blue0012 is offline
General Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 17
I am a
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Blue0012
Default

What are typical resolutions like and bit rates like? I've seen a few Kodi setups at clients and the ones I've seen had pretty terrible bit rates, blurry, low res.
  #27  
Old 12-09-2016, 04:40 PM
Malibu-Jack Malibu-Jack is offline
General Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 68
I am a
Thanks: 24
Thanked 16 Times in 9 Posts
Malibu-Jack has less then 10 reputation points
Default

It depends on you Sources you select. Mine is great when I select HD and above
  #28  
Old 12-09-2016, 09:49 PM
scribbles's Avatar
scribbles scribbles is offline
Senior Member (100+ Posts)
Long time member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 322
I am a
Thanks: 45
Thanked 129 Times in 48 Posts
scribbles has over 5000 reputation pointsscribbles has over 5000 reputation pointsscribbles has over 5000 reputation pointsscribbles has over 5000 reputation pointsscribbles has over 5000 reputation pointsscribbles has over 5000 reputation pointsscribbles has over 5000 reputation points
Default

I find feed quality can be pretty variable. Usually it's 720p or so, but I can't seem to get the 1080p sources to work well. I also haven't figured out how to stream live TV, which I would love to be able to do.
__________________
grin and bare it
www.sexinthesnow.com
scrb
  #29  
Old 12-20-2016, 12:16 PM
kramepson kramepson is offline
General Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 17
I am a
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
kramepson has less then 10 reputation points
Default

I have an add-in on mine called CC something, part of TVAddons, it can get you live streams, not fantastic quality though. We also run an Over the Air Antenna, fantastic quality local feeds.
I'm also waiting for delivery of a MI TV Box, with AndroidTV on it, and it has some live feed service(called Polar??)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Sponsors List

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - Cerb / lyla.com (design co.)