Drunkeness Defense in Sexual Assault Cases

Guest W***ledi*Time

I'm.... speechless.

So could someone drink a skinful, get in a car, get pulled over and then claim there weren't guilty of DUI because they were too drunk to be criminally responsible? I'd *love* to be a fly on the wall if that went to court, just to see the lawyers' heads explode :)

Guest W***ledi*Time
... So could someone drink a skinful, get in a car, get pulled over and then claim there weren't guilty of DUI because they were too drunk to be criminally responsible? I'd *love* to be a fly on the wall if that went to court, just to see the lawyers' heads explode :)

ha ha ... joking aside, as near as I can figure out, it's true that in general, anyone is perfectly free to try this argument, including in a case of simple drunk driving. (I am not a lawyer, though, so, as usual, I stand to be corrected).

Perhaps not the wisest choice of "defenses", though. Since drunk driving is illegal in and of itself, someone making the claim that they were too drunk to be responsible might find that they would not so much be submitting a defense ... as they would be making a flat-out confession of guilt. But the constitutional point is that the accused is free to try this argument, or most any other argument - no matter how crazy, or how unlikely it may be to actually sway the court.

The exception, however, is any case:

"... that includes as an element an
assault
or any other interference or threat of interference by a person with the bodily integrity of another person."(
Criminal Code
33.1(3))

In such cases, the accused is not free to try the drunkenness argument - according to the post-1995 Criminal Code, that is. It is this exception that is the point of the multiple findings of unconstitutionality as mentioned in the news article cited in my OP.

I can't condone the offence, but have to agree defensive strategy used has many possibilities.