Just Got to Ottawa from Down East - New Here

Guest S***e

Hey Folks:

Just a quick hello as I'm fairly new to Ottawa as I moved here from down east (New Brunswick) as I was transferred here for work reasons. I'm a friendly guy who's used to leaving his front door unlocked, the fridge full of Moosehead beer and the coffee pot on all the time. I don't find Ottawa to be a friendly place and people drive like idiots here! Mind you where I grew up there was only two traffic lights and maybe a dozen stop signs to contend with. I stopped at the intersection of Bank and Gladstone the other day, got out of my car to help a blind man across the road and got sworn at by some guy with bad manners. Welcome to Ottawa. Hope the ladies here are more friendly!

I likely won't post much of anything for a while until I feel my way around. Have a good one.

Old Spike

Dude - welcome to Ottawa. There are rude people in every city. The ladies are very pleasant here. Don't let one bad experience with a motorist cloud your perception of this fine city.

One newcomer to another, welcome to Ottawa. Don't let the drivers here get you down. I find they are generally more courteous than most places I've driven but the lack of basic driving skills is appalling. And you are right, people here aren't that friendly to strangers on the street. However, if you smile at an attractive woman on the street, 90% of the time you will get a blush and a sheepish smile back. It's very entertaining.

hey spike, welcome to the nations capital and also to Cerb!

Hey spike, welcome to Ottawa. Not everybody is like that, we can be nice while we're taking your tax money you know! Welcome to CERB, enjoy!

Guest f***2f***

yeah welcome aboard...i've lived in nb and ns and you are right on the surface people are colder here (I was born here and grew up here so qualified to comment).